top of page

Creating Creativity

Hello all! Finn here.


Staying creative in quarantine is… difficult to say the least.


My usual writing routine is to say “I’m too busy” or “I’ll get to it.”


6 months later, my fledgling novel hadn’t been touched.


I continued to deny the issue- I hadn’t written for fun since my school had begun.


Then the quarantine hit. Time was no longer an issue. With my activities on hiatus, I decided to sit down and read what I had written six months ago. I wanted to instantly close my computer. It was terrible! Only 5 chapters had been worked on, and there wasn’t a clear direction to my story.


I wasn’t sure how to keep myself motivated. Turns out, too much time is not a good thing. That’s when I decided to structure my time.


Sitting around and doing things on a whim wasn’t going to work for me. I set up a daily writing schedule.


My schedule entailed working in 20 minute blocks starting from 3pm each day, and stopping no later than 5pm.


If I still had ideas at the end of the 2 hours, I would write them down and put them away. They would still be there the next day.


If I didn’t have ideas, or was forcing myself to create, I would stop.


As a result, writing became more enjoyable, and I am still getting things done. Setting aside time really helped me motivate myself.


That way, I was less likely to procrastinate on school work, and I could see my progress on the page.


So, from me to you, here’s my advice on creating creativity while quarantined:

-set aside specific times to write

-write out what you want to accomplish in your allotted time before you start

-don’t micromanage what you write (the more you do so, less work gets done)

-write out goals for your next session


And remember, this is what worked for me. We are all different- experiment with different systems!


Smile, stay safe, and I’ll ‘see’ you next time.


-Finn


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page