top of page

How To Spice Up Your Zoom Calls

If you have a REALLY old computer which you don’t want to replace, like me, you most likely can’t use Zoom’s fun backgrounds. If you are also like me, your room is, more often than not, a mess.


In these strange times, school has been reduced to video calls and emails to teachers.


As a 2000’s kid at heart, the only time I’ve ever heard of making a background for videos was from YouTubers.


Now, the tables have turned on me, and I have to get creative with where to put my devices, and what’s in my background.


The pile of textbooks, shoes, and t-shirts cluttering my bedroom floor will have to go.


The artsy murals and posters? Those can stay!


Here’s what I did to make my room look presentable!


Step 1:


CLEAN!

I tend to put things on every available surface. That means that makeup gets put on top of textbooks, sketchbooks sit on the floor, pencils clutter my drafting table, fabric scraps and pins lay by the door, and overall chaos ensues. However, I like my room when it isn’t a disaster, and even when it is, I like it then too.


Step 2:

Locate random objects that could be deemed as interesting.


And now, from the Cook County Jail, a large collection of 13 miscellaneous objects found in Finn’s bedroom:

-a large glass mason jar

-a tiny lamp

-lots of books

-an assortment of art materials

-drawings and paintings taped to my wall

-old pictures of my various sports teams

-random stuffed animals

-glasses cleaner

-lots of BuTtOns

-PRIDE stickers

-a to-do list

-a pressed flower

-a hot pink fedora



Step 3:

Place said random items strategically around your “Zooming” space.


For example, if you take calls against a white wall on the floor, take Post-its and make cool shapes around your head! These won’t hurt your walls, and they can also be homemade using paper and tape. Maybe break out your old set of colored pencils, draw or color something random, and tape it up behind you.


Step 4:

If you can’t wreck your walls, then consider doing something interesting to your appearance!

Break out your cool clothes (t-shirts work great for this), makeup, or hair gel, and change it up!


The best thing about designating a Zoom space, is that you can quickly learn what you can and can’t do.


When I was 6, I decided to take my pink finger paints and paint the white fence on the side of my house. I was grounded for a month, my parents took away the paints (I got the paints back eventually), and I still haven’t lived it down.


Thankfully, my parents realized early on that paint escapades weren't going to stop anytime soon, and I’m now allowed to paint the walls in my bedroom, as well as tack things up. They just asked that I am considerate of who might see what I put up, and tell me not to get paint on the floor.



So, break out your creativity, find your Zoom space, and get creating!


Stay safe, smile, and I’ll ‘see’ you next time.


-Finn



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page