top of page

What is Operation Pridefall?

Finn here.

I want to talk about Pride month and Operation Pridefall.


As many of you know, I like to read, write, and sew. Some of you don’t know this, but I am a part of the LGBTQ community. This is my first pride month out to my family and friends.


I wasn’t thinking about pride month this year- it seemed really far ahead. My school’s sexuality and gender alliance club talked about going to some pride related events. I was looking forward to new experiences, and I wanted to find my community. And I now want to cry.


For those of you who don’t know, Pridefall is a cyberattack against the LGBTQ community during the month of June.


It’s mainly originated on the site 4chan, and it’s a grisly sight.


Supporters of this movement are advocating to “remind people whether or not they are supporting the right thing,” according to Heavy’s article on “Operation Pridefall”.


There are a lot of things I don’t understand about Operation Pridefall. But what I mainly don’t understand, is why.


So many differing opinions end up ripping us apart. No one can ignore it, not with the events that have happened recently.


People lose friendships over arguments and opinions about race, religion, sexuality, orientation, ethnicity.


Our constitution starts with We The People.


We. The. PEOPLE.


We the people should include everyone. Except it doesn’t, fully.


People call themselves Americans. They say they respect our country. But then they rip it apart with things like Operation Pridefall, racial slurs and offensive jokes.


It makes me not want to believe in the idea of America anymore.


What kind of place am I living in?


So many weapons are used today. So many words are wielded wrong.


And all of America pays the price.


People sometimes ask me what it's like to be a teenager in today’s day and age, or what I think of high school so far.


Here’s my answer: It sucks. Not because of stress or exams, but because of everything and everyone else who makes it their mission to make people feel bad.


I wake up everyday knowing that people are being insulted, abused, bullied, and so much more.


And it makes me feel powerless. So many things are designed to make people feel powerless.


But I have to wonder why. Why do so many people lash out against others? How can I help them?


What can I do? What can everyone do?


No one should have to feel like they are unwelcome or unwanted, no matter who they are, where they come from, what color of skin they have, how much money they make, or what they identify with. Ever.


People say that life isn’t fair. And yes, that might be true. But neither is discrimination. And if I there’s one thing I know, it’s that discrimination and hatred need to stop. Now.


Finn out.


66 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page